Province Allocates Nearly 600 Child Care Centre Spaces

The Government of Saskatchewan has now allocated nearly 600 of the 1,015 licensed child care centre spaces committed to through the Canada-Saskatchewan Early Learning Child Care Agreement signed earlier this year. Communities receiving spaces include Regina, Saskatoon, Prince Albert, North Battleford, Yorkton, Moose Jaw, Nipawin, Fort Qu’Appelle, Balcarres and LeRoy. The Ministry of Education continues to receive applications and will allocate more licensed child care centre spaces later this spring. 

The Government of Saskatchewan is committed to increasing access to quality early learning and child care opportunities that support positive child development, early literacy and student achievement.  Funding has been allocated for nearly 7,000 spaces since 2007, for a total of nearly 17,000 funded licensed child care spaces in Saskatchewan.

For more information, please click here