Premier Scott Moe Announces First Cabinet

Scott Moe was formally sworn in as Premier of Saskatchewan and President of Executive Council and has announced the appointment of his first cabinet.
Five MLAs are entering cabinet, including one who becomes a minister for the first time:

  • Gordon Wyant - Deputy Premier and Minister of Education
  • Jeremy Harrison - Minister of Export and Trade Development and Minister of Immigration and Careers Training
  • Tina Beaudry-Mellor - Minister of Advanced Education and Minister responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and Status of Women
  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Minister of Central Services and Minister responsible for PSC and PCC
  • Warren Kaeding - Minister of Government Relations and Minister of First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs

Two ministers remain in cabinet but change portfolios:

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Minister of Energy and Resources and Minister responsible for SaskWater and SaskEnergy
  • Christine Tell - Minister of Corrections and Policing and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation

Ten ministers retain their current cabinet responsibilities:

  • Don Morgan - Minister of Justice and AG and Minister responsible for Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and WCB, GTH and SaskTel
  • Donna Harpauer - Minister of Finance
  • Lyle Stewart - Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance
  • Jim Reiter - Minister of Health
  • Dustin Duncan - Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for WSA and SaskPower
  • Greg Ottenbreit - Minister of Rural and Remote Health
  • David Marit - Minister of Highways and Infrastructure and Minister responsible for SaskBuilds and Priority Saskatchewan
  • Joe Hargrave - Minister of CIC and Minister responsible for SGI
  • Paul Merriman - Minister of Social Services
  • Gene Makowsky - Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for SLGA and Tourism Saskatchewan

By-Elections March 1
Immediately after being sworn in as Saskatchewan’s 15th Premier, Premier Moe called three by-elections to fill the vacant seats in Kindersley, Melfort and Swift Current. All three by-elections will be held on March 1.